LASC’s Don Zuidema to Be Honored by WeHo Chamber of Commerce

Don Zuidema, the owner of LASC, one of West Hollywood’s best known clothing stores, will receive the 2019 Ray Reynolds Award at the West Hollywood Chamber of Commerce’s annual board installation meeting on Feb. 13.

Zuidema was chosen for the award by outgoing WHCC board chairman Keith Kaplan.  “I am particularly proud to honor Don Zuidema with this year’s Ray Reynolds Award,” Kaplan said in an announcement of the award. “I have worked with Don on various committees and organizations that benefit our community for over 30 years, and I have witnessed over and over his generosity and commitment to our community based on a true love for West Hollywood.

Don Zuidema, co-owner of LASC (along with partners Mike McGinley and Alfredo Izaguirre not pictured) near the entrance of his iconic menswear store in West Hollywood. (Photo by Michael Jortner)

“While working hard to build LASC into a landmark business here, he has still always managed to find the time to share his vision and lend a hand to help develop and promote the world class image of West Hollywood. I cannot think of a better recipient to embody the legacy and spirit of Ray Reynolds.”

In addition to his work as a member of the Chamber’s board, Zuidema serves as chair of WeHo PAC – the WHCC-sponsored political action committee.  The Ray Reynolds Award is named for the City of West Hollywood’s former director of economic development and special projects, a position Reynolds held until his death in 2009 at the age of 63.

The Feb. 13 event, which takes place at at Sofitel, 8555 Beverly Blvd., also will feature the installation of the Chamber’s board of directors.  It is a reception-style program from 6 to 8:00 p.m. Tickets are $60 for WHCC members and $80 for non-members.

The 2019 board directors are as follows. (* denotes new board members.)

Officers of the board:

— Immediate Past Chair – Keith Kaplan, Sotheby’s International Realty

— Chair – Nick Rimedio, La Peer Hotel

— First Vice Chair – Fred Anawalt, Anawalt Lumber

— Secretary – Raja Sannidhi, Capitol Drugs/Power Zone

— Chief Financial Officer – Alexander Bazley, West Hollywood Gateway

— Vice Chair, Governmental Affairs – David Dickerson, kitchen24

— Vice Chair, Membership – Tom Doherty, Café D’Etoile

— Vice Chair, Events – Maxine Tatlonghari, Vanity Girl Hollywood

Board of Directors:

— John Adler, Phyllis Morris Originals

— Ralph Barnes, Beverly Center

— Mylena Christina, Sotheby’s International Realty

— Sherri Franklin, Urban Design Center*

— Rod Gruendyke, Sunset Marquis Hotel & Villas

— Hany Haddad, US Bank

— Deborah B. Kallick, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

— Layne Lawson, Clear Channel Outdoor

— Mark E. Lehman, Law Offices of Mark E. Lehman

— Lee Maen, Innovative Dining Group

— Carol Massie, McDonald’s

— Mona Mohammadi, Lord Jones *

— David Wood, David Wood Insurance

— Don Zuidema, LASC


— Tom Kiely, West Hollywood Travel + Tourism

— Jim O’Callaghan, Business Improvement Districts *

— Madonna Cacciatore, Christopher Street West *

For more event information contact Genevieve Morrill, the chamber’s president, at (323) -650-2688 or

newest oldest
Notify of
Larry Block
Larry Block

Don and his partner Mike have created one of West Hollywood’s longest serving community business. For those of you too young to remember the original LASC was located at the current Salt and Straw ice cream location and is in the movie Pretty Woman as Richard Gerle drives Julia Roberts back to Beverly Hills along Santa Monica Blvd it’s in the background. I’ve been honored to work alongside Don during our Labor Day LA years and he is always fair and honorable. It’s nice to see a small community oriented business owner receive the Chamber honor. Well earned.